The Official News Centre

IMG 9096

The Minister of Education, Hon. Dr. Yaw Osei Adutwum has inaugurated the 5th Governing Council of UENR. The event held on October 1, 2021, at the Ministry of Education conference room in Accra saw Professor Kwesi Nsiah Gyabaah sworn into office as the new Chairman of the University Council. The other members are Professor Elvis Asare-Bediako, Vice-Chancellor; Madam Jennifer Owusu Esq., Government Nominee; Dr. Christian Addai-Poku, Government Nominee; Prof. William Oduro, Government Nominee; Mr. Reginald Djimatey, UTAG Rep; Surv. Maxwell Ofori, TEWU Rep; Rev. Sr. Benedicta Uzokwe, CHASS Rep; Mr. Eric Yaw Amponsah, GRASAG Rep; Ing. Lewis Ofori Amankona, Alumni Rep and GTEC Rep; Dr. Mrs. Nana Konama Kotey.

However, the representatives for SRC, Convocation (Professorial and Non-Professorial) would be sworn into office at their first Council meeting.

The Minister in his remarks thanked the members for accepting the President’s call to serve the nation through the University. He added that it is an opportunity for the young Council members to upgrade their knowledge and experience in governance. He further charged the Council to work hard and bring forth the potentials of the UENR to make it the best University in the world. Again, he challenged the Council members to be innovative and take opportunities in climate change and its related issues as well as energy and engineering despite the difficulties faced by the University. According to the Minister, such activities would be the best way of attracting the attention of the government and international bodies to intervene and support the University.

IMG 9070
The Minister of Education, Hon. Dr. Yaw Osei Adutwum

The Minister commended the University in organizing STEM festival annually to harness the interest of students to study science-related programmes at the University. He, however, encouraged the Council to take initiative to scout for students at the Senior High School and train them to become excellent scientists and technologists.

The Council Chairman in his acceptance speech expressed his appreciation to the government for the opportunity to serve on the Council. He gave the assurance that the Council will diligently work to address the needs of the University.

IMG 8947
The Council Chairman, Professor Kwesi Nsiah Gyabaah