UENR Holds 10th Anniversary Celebration Awards, Fundraising and Dinner Night 


The Official News Centre

3R2A1064 1
Prof. Harrison K. Dapaah, second Foundation VC (right) receives a citation from the University Council Chairman, Prof. Kwasi Nsiah Gyabaah

As part of activities to climax the 10th Anniversary celebration, an Award and Fundraising Dinner was held at the Eusbett International Conference Centre, on Saturday, April 1, 2023, where the Past Principal Officers and some retirees of the University were honoured with awards and citations for their contributions towards the foundational development of the University. Some corporate and hospitality institutions were also awarded for their support and financial contributions, which birthed UENR. 

All former Chairmen of the University Council: Prof. (Mrs) Aba Bentsil Andam (2012-2016), Prof. J S. K. Ayim (2016-2017), Prof. Ambrose K. Tuah (2017) and   Prof. George Kankam (2020-2021) were honoured with awards. The Foundation Vice-Chancellors,  Prof. (Mrs) Esi Awuah and   Prof. Harrison Dapaah, also received awards. 

3R2A1046 1
Prof. Elvis Asare-Bediako, VC, (left) in a photo with Prof. Harrison K. Dapaah, second Foundation VC

Some individuals also received awards. They are Ms. Betty Mould Iddrisu – Former Minister for Education in Ghana from 2011 to 2012 who aided in the conversion of FFRT to UENR, Dr. Christine Amoako-Nuamah – Chairperson for the conversion of FFRT to UENR,  Hon. Kwadwo Nyamekye-Marfo – Former Brong Ahafo Regional Minister who aided in the conversion of FFRT to UENR, Hon. Kwaku Agyeman Manu – Health Minister, MP, Dormaa Central and Hon. Kwasi Ameyaw Cheremeh (MP), Sunyani East. The others are  Hon. Justina Owusu – Banahene – Bono Regional Minister, Dr. Yaw Osei Adutwum, Education Minister for STEM education, Hon. Ignatius Baffour-Awuah (MP), Minister for Employment and Labour Relations. 

3R2A1076 1
Foundation VC, Prof. Mrs. Esi Awuah (left) presents an award to GCB Bank PLC

The  Corporate awards went to the Bank of Ghana for Financing of the New Auditorium, GCB Bank PLC which donated Seed money of 1 million Ghana cedis to establish UENR. The Ghana National Petroleum Corporation (GNPC) also received an award for Financing the building of the APPLab, granting Scholarships to students, and also funding a lecture theatre and office complex. Ghana National Gas Company for donating seed money of 2 million Ghana Cedis towards the building of the UENR Hospital

For the Catering and Hospitality industry, Eusbett Hotel, Sheila’s Executive Lodge, and Tyco City Hotel all received awards for their partnership with UENR in the industry. 

The award for the night which grabbed the attention of patrons was the Baffuor Awuah Most Hardworking Lecturer won by Mr. DeGraft Johnson Ankamah (Senior Lecturer, Department of Mathematics and Statistics).

3R2A1030 1 1
Mr. DeGraft Johnson Ankamah, Best Lecturer (right) receives his cheque from Hon Ignatius Baffuor Awuah

The Meritorious Award went to   Mr. Isaac Kwaku Abebrese (Retired) who was part of the delegation that led the conversion of, FFRT to UENR. Ms. Felicia Bonsu (Retired), former Head of Conservancy Labourer and Mrs. Janet Asare, Foundation Headmistress, UENR Basic School were also honoured as retirees of the University.


The evening also recorded a massive donation of funds towards the University hospital project. There was also a progress presentation by the Commercial Director of RKC, the company working on the Nsoatre Campus, and a presentation by the Director of Works and Physical Development, Ing. Christian Yeboah Nuako on the University Hospital Project.

It was also a night of a reunion, socializing, dancing to some live band music and cutting of the Anniversary cake.

3R2A0892 1
University Council Chairman, Prof. Kwasi Nsiah Gyabaah (in white) joined by past Vice-Chancellors, the Bono Regional Minister and the Chairman for Vice Chancellors Ghana, to cut the Anniversary cake.

Story by Jennifer Naa Jaaga